Saturday, August 14, 2010
by John McLeod

Race action at Southside Speedway picked up this past Friday night after a 2 week hiatus. And race fans were treated to some of the wildest racing of the season as all 6 divisions competed on a special double-points night.

After several weeks of coming close, Shawn Hopkins finally put all the pieces together and grabbed his first win of the season.

Hopkins started on the outside pole and grabbed the lead from pole sitter Bill Nixon in the opening laps of the race. Hopkins went on to lead the rest of the race and pick up his 8th top-5 of the season.

“I finally got the monkey of my back”, exclaimed Hopkins after finishing in the top 5 for the last four races. “It feels great to finally get it one in the books. We have been working on this for awhile and we finally got one.”

Points leader Tommy Tatum came home second with Brian Myslivy, Mark Simpson and JD Eversole rounding out the top five.

Jason Higginbotham grabbed his second win in a row after a last lap incident with race leader with Brad Davis in the 20-lap CHAMP Kart main event. Davis and Higgenbotham battled for the win heading into the 4th turn of the final lap. Both cars connected with Davis spinning out and Higgenbotham going by for the win. Davis came across the line backwards in second position with Clint Gunn placing third. Hunter Ashworth and Mike Matthews rounded out the top five.

Jamie Hite picked up his 3rd win of the season in the UCAR 25 lap event. Hite held off points leader David Kerns at the line with Mike Chapman coming home in third. Frank Silva and Charlie Simons rounding out the top five.

Shayne Lockhart held off Chris Hopkins after a late race restart to take home his fifth win of the season in the 75-lap Late Model main event.

Hopkins came home second with division points leader Chris Dodson placing third. Eddie Johnson and Jeff Oakley finished fourth and fifth.

Thomas Stinson picked up his 7th win of the season in the 50-lap Modified main event. Mike Rudy crossed the line second with Warren Lipford, Jr. finishing a season best third. Stacey Wilbourne and Brian Scott finished fourth and fifth, respectively.

Mike Ganoe grabbed his fifth win of the season in the Street Stock 50-lap main event. Justin Groome came home second with Jason Beck finishing third. James Loving and Michael Sutphin rounded out the top five.

Late Model-75 Laps
1.    Shayne Lockhart
2.    Chris Hopkins
3.    Chris Dodson
4.    Eddie Johnson
5.    Jeff Oakley

Modified-50 Laps
1.    Thomas Stinson
2.    Mike Rudy
3.    Warren Lipford, Jr.
4.    Stacey Wilbourne
5.    Bryan Scott

UCAR-25 Laps
1.    Jamie Hite
2.    David Kerns
3.    Mike Chapman
4.    Frank Silva
5.    Charlie Simons

Grand Stock-30 Laps
1.    Shawn Hopkins
2.    Tommy Tatum
3.    Brian Myslivy
4.    Mark Simpson
5.    J. D. Eversole

Street Stock-50 Laps
1.    Mike Ganoe
2.    Justin Groome
3.    Jason Beck
4.    James Loving
5.    Michael Sutphin

Champ Karts-25 Laps
1.    Jason Higgenbotham
2.    Brad Davis
3.    Clint Gunn
4.    Hunter Ashworth
5.    Mike Matthews