Stinson Captures 2 of 3 Modified Races
Published Sunday, July 20, 2008

FRIDAY - JULY 18, 2008
Other Articles

It was a big night for Roy Hendrick as he captured two of three 30-lap Late Model features at Southside Speedway on Friday night.

However, a driver he has mentored found tougher luck.

Hendrick won the second and third races of the night, and said he should have had all three. He was battling eventual race winner Doug Godsey in the first one when the two came together and Hendrick spun out on the backstretch.

"Roy and I got together a little bit," said Godsey, who claimed his first Southside victory. "I hate it for Roy. He's a great competitor."

Hendrick, a four-time track champion in Late Models, finished fifth in the first race after working his way back up through the field. In the second race, it was a bit of nonintentional payback.

Hendrick was fourth behind Brad Davis, Russ Ellis and Godsey on Lap 21. Ellis tried to go around Davis, but ran into the back of him. Godsey then hit Ellis, and Hendrick ran into Godsey. That spun Godsey around in Turn 4.

Track officials could have sent Hendrick to the rear on a restart if they felt he caused the caution, but he retained his position. He took the lead three laps later when Ellis spun Davis, and Ellis was sent to the rear.

In the third race, Hendrick and Shayne Lockhart passed Brandon Hendrick, Roy's son, after a lengthy battle and Hendrick pulled away for the win.

"I don't know what they did [to the car], but I'll tell you what: It was good," Roy Hendrick said.

Mark Simpson finished first in the Grand Stock race, the rookie's first victory in just six starts after Hendrick helped him get started. But he and third-place finisher Jamie Neely were disqualified two hours after the racing ended.

Track officials had the top four finishers tear down their engines, and Simpson and Neely were found to have illegal heads on the engines. Runner-up, points leader and two-time track champion Chris Hott was declared the winner.

Contact staff writer Jill Erwin at or (804) 649-6490.


Late Model No. 1 (30 laps): 1. Doug Godsey; 2. Chris Dodson; 3. Russ Ellis; 4. Brad Davis; 5. Roy Hendrick; 6. Greg Fernandez; 7. Rob Jenkins; 8. Shayne Lockhart; 9. Brandon Hendrick; 10. Sonny Allen; 11. Alan Purser; 12. Jeff Oakley; 13. Shannon Oakley; 14. David Mooney; 15. Chris Hopkins; 16. Wayne Patterson.

Late Model No. 2 (30 laps): 1. Roy Hendrick; 2. Chris Dodson; 3. Shayne Lockhart; 4. Greg Fernandez; 5. Rob Jenkins; 6. Brandon Hendrick; 7. Sonny Allen; 8. Jeff Oakley; 9. Doug Godsey; 10. Wayne Patterson; 11. Alan Purser; 12. Russ Ellis; 13. Shannon Marano; 14. Brad Davis; 15. David Mooney; 16. Bugs Hairfield; 17. Chris Hopkins.

Late Model No. 3 (30 laps): 1. Roy Hendrick; 2. Shayne Lockhart; 3. Brandon Hendrick; 4. Chris Dodson; 5. Greg Fernandez; 6. Jeff Oakley; 7. Doug Godsey; 8. Bugs Hairfield; 9. Russ Ellis; 10. Shannon Marano; 11. Sonny Allen; 12. David Mooney; 13. Brad Davis; 14. Alan Purser; 15. Rob Jenkins; 16. Chris Hopkins.

Grand Stock (30 laps): 1. Chris Hott; 2. Joey Bryant; 3. Donnie Newman; 4. Bill Nixon; 5. Justin Brown; 6. Todd Ruggles; 7. Shawn Hopkins; 8. Donnie Johnson; 9. Brian Myslivy; 10. Daniel Shelton; 11. Emily Happel; 12. Cory Willoughby; 13. Mike Cole; 14. Woody Ellington; 15. B.K. Wilson; 16. Mark Simpson (DQ); 17. Jamie Neely (DQ).

U-Car (25 laps): 1. George Dickson; 2. Michael Hall; 3. Mike Chapman; 4. Frank Silva; 5. JodyYoung; 6. Lindsay Bryant; 7. Daniel Thomas; 8. Renno Marchetti IV; 9. Lauren Edgerton; 10. Billy Enroughty; 11. Michael Harper; 12. Mark Richards; 13. Corey Lawrence; 14. Butch Mixell; 15. David Kerns; 16. Jordan Bell; 17. David Gonce; 18. Tony Mills; 19. Damon Fender; 20. Steve Thomas; 21. Joshua Thomas; 22. Mike Shiflett; 23. Tabitha Lipford.

MACKA (20 laps): 1. Stan Holmes; 2. Ryland Craze; 3. Brad Davis; 4. Buzz Moore; 5. Stanley Holmes; 8. Leroy Devore; 7. Jeremy Grogg; 8. Jake Harberts; 9. Chad Cramer.