Stinson Can't Stop, Even If He Wants To
After building a large lead, he cruised to a win, without braking
Published July 27, 2008

July 25, 2008
Other Articles
Thomas Stinson's winning streak doesn't appear to have any brakes. And for a little while on Friday, neither did his car.

Stinson was rolled into victory lane after running the final laps of the Modified race without brakes. During the 100-lap event at Southside Speedway, he had built such a large lead that it didn't matter.

"One more restart and I'm not sure I would've had it," he said. "I was trying to get as much of a margin as I could before those final laps."

He added that his brakes had likely overheated after making several passes in a row on the 1/3-mile track.

"I think he can be beat," second-place finisher Lin O'Neil said. "But he was cruising out there."

O'Neil put up the best fight, starting the night with four new tires because it was his first Modified race of the season. Others just received two new tires.

But because of that, he had to run at least 15 laps during practice or he would have to start at the back of the field. He made it through just 11 during his allotted time.

And in case a fresh competitor wasn't enough of a challenge for Stinson, Southside officials stopped the race at the 50-lap mark to "redraw," or rearrange the running order to handicap the top drivers.

Stinson and Chris Johnson, who had taken a commanding lead, were moved to fifth and sixth, respectively. It made little difference though for the track's top driver, who quickly maneuvered his way to the front.

Also dominating at the track Friday night was Donnie Newman, who picked up the victory in two of the three Grand Stock races and finished second in the other.

Newman has been behind the wheel since 2000, and credited his crew and lots of practice time as contributing to his success this season.

The victories, his third and fourth of the season, will help propel him into the top three in the season points standings. His second victory came at the expense of overall leader Chris Hott.

Newman gave Hott a bump with a few laps to go. The two then ran side by side for the final laps, with Newman ultimately edging Hott by less than a car length.

"I was thinking that this was for the win, so I gave him a little push," Newman said. "Chris is a good friend of mine and always races clean. Hopefully he'll get over it and we'll go racing again."

In the night's earlier U-Car race, Mike Chapman started in the very back of the field, but over 25 laps worked his way to the front of a caution-filled race.

"Everybody started wrecking in front of me, and I was able to avoid it. I have no clue how," Chapman said. "I was passing people on the outside, which I've never done before."

Finishing third was Lindsay Bryant, who protected her season-points lead over Renno Marchetti IV, who finished fifth.

Contact Michael Phillips at


Grand Stock No.1 (20 laps): 1. Joey Bryant; 2. Donnie Newman; 3. Shawn Hopkins; 4. Brian Myslivy; 5. Chris Hott; 6. Brandon Vaught; 7. Daniel Shelton; 8. Justin Brown; 9. Todd Ruggles; 10. Richard Sheens; 11. Mark Simpson; 12. Mike Cole; 13. Jason Beck; 14. Jamie Neely; 15. Bill Nixon; 16. Joe Happel; 17. Corey Willoughby; 18. Woody Ellington; 19. Donnie Johnson.

U-Car (25 laps): 1. Michael Chapman; 2. Michael Hall; 3. Lindsay Bryant; 4. Lauren Edgerton; 5. Renno Marchetti IV; 6. Daniel Thomas; 7. Jody Young; 8. Frank Silva; 9. Ervin Dickerson; 10. Joshua Thomas; 11. Butch Mixell; 12. Steve Thomas; 13. Tony Mills; 14. Michael Harper; 15. Damon Fender; 16. Billy Enroughty; 17. Charlie Simons; 18. George Dickson; 19. David Kern; 20. Mike Shiflett; 21. David Gonce; 22. Tabitha Lipford.

Legends (25 laps): 1. Brad Hancock; 2. Jimmy Hansen; 3. Lee Johnson; 4. Casey Wyatt; 5. Rette Causey; 6. Cameron Patrick; 7. Joe Hendricks; 8. Jamie Laine; 9. Steve Hancock; 10. Michael Edwards; 11. Charles Hudson; 12. Scotty Edwards; 13. Kevin Yeatts.

Grand Stock No.2 (20 laps): 1. Donnie Newman; 2. Chris Hott; 3. Brian Myslivy; 4. Daniel Shelton; 5. Mark Simpson; 6. Todd Ruggles; 7. Justin Brown; 8. Bill Nikon; 9. Shawn Hopkins; 10. Jason Beck; 11. Joey Bryant; 12. Mike Cole; 13. Donnie Johnson; 14. Corey Willoughby; 15. Brandon Vaught; 16. Richard Skeens; 17. Joe Happel; 18. Woody Ellington.

Modifieds (100 laps): 1. Thomas Stinson; 2. Lin O'Neil; 3. Kyle Wood; 4. Chris Johnson; 5. Jason Palmore; 6. Chris Hoylman; 7. Ryan Boggs; 8. Jason Eberth; 9. Brooks Lawson; 10. Michael Johnson; 11. David Kendall; 12. Hunter Slayton; 13. Jim Grady, Jr.; 14. Warren Lipford; 15. Stacey Wilbourne.

Grand Stock No.3 (20 laps): 1. Donnie Newman; 2. Daniel Shelton; 3. Justin Brown; 4. Chris Hott; 5. Joey Bryant; 6. Bill Nixon; 7. Todd Ruggles; 8. Jason Beck; 9. Brian Myslivy; 10. Shawn Hopkins; 11. Mark Simpson; 12. Mike Cole; 13. Corey Willoughby; 14. Woody Ellington.